top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Robinson

The New Normal

Updated: Jan 7, 2022

Following my spring break, I was excited to learn I would have a few extra weeks at home when my school said we would go back on April 10th. I am a family gal and go to school 6 hours away from home, so this extra time at home was exciting and promising for me. However, I later learned my semester would transition to all online. I was left with mixed emotions as I love being able to spend more time with my sister and my dog, but I cannot help but think about what could have been. I have grown to love my college, Auburn University, and was very upset about not being able to go back. I had a meeting with my academic advisor, a dinner etiquette class, and sporting events among other things. I wanted closure. I took a back to school to get some of my stuff made, which me more comfortable about finishing my semester at home. Everything was—and still is—changing daily.


{My friend, Taylor, and I rolling the trees after an Auburn win!}


College is a time of growth and development and for many, that experience has got cut short unexpectedly. Parents and elders are always telling us how college is the best four years of our lives. In two years at college, I have learned how to become independent, manage my time, and basic skills like effectively doing laundry. While I know this situation is tough for everyone, my heart goes out to the seniors. The class of 2020. Walking across the stage and being recognized in front of your classmates, friends, and family seems to make all of our hard work worth it. Graduation and commencement ceremonies are the last pages of the book, that some may not get to write.


Moving forward, it is important to focus on what can be rather than what is. I love the quote "everything happens for a reason" and I think it addresses the current state of fear and anxiety in the world. There is a silver lining for everything, which we find out after the fact. We may want an answer right away, but sometimes waiting develops patience and hope. With everything going on, my family now meets for weekly Zoom meetings on Sunday nights and we are more connected than ever.

I have always wanted to take up blogging or making youtube videos as I did in middle school #throwback. Now is a perfect time to do something you may have always wanted to but not had time. Make that new recipe, try an at-home workout, read that book, or take a long walk. I hope this post inspires someone who is struggling during this time. I am not saying it is going to be easy, but my dad says we will only be better once we get through this.


I am not going to act like I have everything together nor pretend like this has not impacted me. Ironically, it seems like I have been watching less Netflix when I'm home. Although. I think part of this is due to my teachers and classwork. I am currently looking for an internship, and I have been struggling with that because not many people hire sophomores. In addition, the economy is being hit hard by COVID-19. Another stressor is deciding if I should take summer classes and choosing a minor. I am a bigger shopper, and it seems like all my hobbies are non-essential. I never would have pictured ending my semester at home, but I am trying to make the best of it and stay productive. My new normal looks like more exercise and being with family. What is your new normal?

 

{Exercise is my new pass time. I love my Apple watch because it allows me to track my workouts. I try to fill my 3 rings daily- active calories, time standing, and 30 minutes of exercise.}


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page